The Last Version of Photoshop for the Last Version of the PowerMac

Photoshop cs4

Do they or don’t they? Will they or won’t they? I have read many conflicting opinions about the highest version of Photoshop that can be successfully run on a PowerMac G5. Some say CS3 while others say CS4. And what about Tiger vs. Leopard? So what’s the deal? Do Photoshop CS4 and the PowerMac G5 “play nice” with each other?

The answer is a resounding YES! I have been running Photoshop CS2 on my trusty 2.3 GHz PowerMac G5 Dual for some time now, all under Mac OS 10.4.11, Tiger. I acquired a copy of Photoshop CS4 Upgrade on eBay a while back and finally got around to installing it onto my PowerMac G5 over the weekend. I am pleased to report that it not only runs beautifully, but subjectively at least it seems to run faster than CS2 on the same machine. I have done some detailed photo editing with it and all is definitely very well.

At least with this lineup (PowerMac G5 2.3 GHz Dual, Mac OS X 10.4.11 and Adobe Photoshop CS4), wonder no longer. CS4 is definitely the highest version of Photoshop that can be run on the final version of the PowerMac.

Leave a comment