Multi Mac Backup? Go for Their G-Spot!

Multi Mac Backup? Go for Their G-Spot!

Backing up in Style with the G-Drive Q!

Wow, that sounds a bit racy for a blog about vintage Mac technology, doesn’t it? Well, actually, it is the Q-Spot I am talking about anyway, but that doesn’t sound NEARLY as interesting, and anyway, I just couldn’t resist the title! After that title of course, the topic of this post will seem pretty tame – backing up multiple different generations of Macs using only one hard drive, and potentially using that same drive to move data around any or all of these Macs – but still of interest.

As a collector of vintage Macs, perhaps I have a unique problem, but lets consider the problem for a moment anyway. My current generation iMac is equipped with Thunderbolt, Firewire 800 and USB 2.0 ports. At the other end of the scale, my Quadra 660AV offers only SCSI! In between, my G4 Cube supports Firewire 400 and USB 2.0 and my PowerMac G5s supports Firewire 400, Firewire 800 and USB 2.0. Thanks to some aggressive upgrading, my PowerMac 7500 has USB 1.1, in addition to it’s native SCSI (I have purchased a Firewire 400 PCI card for it, with which I hope to upgrade it to Firewire as well). With this wide variety of access technologies, how do I routinely back up all of these machines without a multitude of different backup drives?

Clearly, to use one drive to back up all of these machines, that drive would need to support SCSI, USB 2.0, Firewire 400, Firewire 800 and Thunderbolt. If you should ever find a drive that does all this, please let me know! I haven’t found one yet. The closest I have come, and the inspiration for the title of this post, is G-Technology’s G-Drive Q. It sports the “Q” moniker because it supports 4 different interfaces: USB2.0, Firewire 400, Firewire 800 and eSata. On top of that, the G-Tech Drives are still the coolest, most fashionable looking drives out there. Originally styled to match the look of the PowerMac G5 (and then Mac Pro) aluminium case, they still look fabulous today. Regrettably, they are no longer actively sold by G-Technology and you will need to troll around on eBay to get one.

Even with all those ports, the G-Drive Q still doesn’t solve all of my backup problems, but it does solve most of them. I use my home network to back up my Quadras and my PowerMac 7500 to my PowerMac G5. Then I can directly connect the G-Drive Q to the PowerMac G5 (Firewire 800), the G4 Cube (Firewire 400) and my current generation iMac (Firewire 800). I can then use this G-Drive Q based back up to move files around to just about everything else, even to the PowerMac 7500, since its USB 1.1, while slow, can be used to access the G-Drive Q as well.

Need to backup or move files amongst a family of Mac technologies? Go for the G-Spot!

[For the record, I have no affiliation with G-Technology – this is simply the rambling of a happy customer]

Leave a Reply

